bluediamondaromas

Discovering recipes and benefits of all natural products for your home, health, body, and mind!

Bath salts and Scrubs Part II!! :)

on August 16, 2013

Image  So my last post was about my adventures with bath salts…this post I want to share what I uncovered regarding sugar scrubs!  If you’ve ever tried a sugar scrub before, you know just how wonderful your skin can feel after.  This is because sugar is soooo great for the skin!  Why?  Emilie Davidson Hoyt wrote an excellent article in the Huffington Post’s Healthy Living about exactly why, but to sum it up…sugar is a natural moisturizer, exfoliate, and anti-aging agent….and the greatest part of using a sugar scrub???  You can make it right in your own home!  WOOT! WOOT! Happy_smiley_face

There are numerous forums to get simple scrub recipes, like Pinterest, and you can always Google “sugar scrub recipes”.  I suggest reviewing a few and seeing which you like best…for me, I found one on Kelly Dixon’s blog “Smart School House” for an Oatmeal Cookie Scrub that I just had to try.  Here’s the breakdown:

Ingredients:
1/2 cup oatmeal (ground to powder)
1 tbsp. brown sugar
2 tbsp. white sugar
1 tsp. baking soda
6 tbsp coconut oil

Combine dry ingredients first then add your oil.  I used Vitamin E oil instead of coconut, because that was just what I had on hand.  Either are fine, and of course, you should experiment and have fun with your recipes!

My finished product was a little soupier than I preferred, so I added a 1/4 cup more of oatmeal to the mix to get a grainer consistency.  It turned out great!  My kiddos wanted to eat it…lol!  The scrub itself left my skin feeling super soft and exfoliated.  Could not ask for more!

Well of course, now I am hooked!  I am trying other recipes, and loving the results.  If you’ve been on the fence as to whether or not you can do this sort of thing, I say go for it!  I absolutely loved the results and it was so quick and easy to make!


Leave a comment